For the last few weeks, Facebook has been at the center of a privacy controversy. The controversy has sent shockwaves throughout the world, and Facebook stocks have plummeted as a result of the backlash.
It all began when Facebook admitted to obtaining user data via Cambridge Analytica (a firm that collects data analytics. Cambridge Analytica also worked for the Trump campaign in the 2016 election). The firm obtained data from millions of Facebook users. What isn't known is if Cambridge Analytica sold the information. According to Cambridge Analytica, they followed all of Facebook's policies.
Chief executive Mark Zuckerberg addressed the Facebook universe and apologized for the invasion of privacy. Zuckerberg is expected to testify in court next month.
On Wednesday, Facebook announced new privacy settings, which will be in effect in a few weeks. The new policy will allow users to review and even delete traces of their Facebook activity (example: past posts and search inquiries). When a user deletes this information, it will be wiped from the Facebook servers forever. If a user clicks on an ad, that information will still be collected.
Facebook also plans on redesigning their mobile app's settings menu. Users will be able to access their privacy and security options in one place.
Readers: Do the new privacy settings make you feel better about using Facebook? Let me know in the comments below.
About the Author
Shauna S has been an online content provider since 2010. Her work has been featured on AOL, Yahoo, Helium, Examiner, Bubblews, Hubpages, and more.